on a letter

Dear No More A Stranger,

It’s taking months being in distant,

me with my fear, and you, might be with your own problem from the past.

It’s taking months before I gathered some gut to ask you out,

with other friends of course because I was too awkward and shy whenever I was alone with you.

It’s taking months getting drunk each time we saw each other,

because if I was not, I ended up making stupid jokes even though you’re always so kind laughing at them

It’s taking months for me to finally feel your skin,

and a long drive from our friend’s house to mine without even me looking at your face while talking.

It’s taking months just for me to affirm,

you’re simply as self-centered as I am

you’re simply as broken as I am

you’re simply as reserved as I am

and you’re simply as wonderful as I never expected you to be

 

And it’s taking months, even years of me being young adult to admit it,

a single presence from once was a stranger would make it all different

 

Dear No more A Stranger,

I like you more than my ego

 

That’s why I told you this, Dear No More A Stranger

Hurry up and come down in town.

I miss you.

Leave a comment